Beyond the Web 2.0 Hype: Focusing on What Really Matters

A few months back, I got an email from the organizers of Tech Forum Northeast asking me if I wanted to participate in a panel discussion at their upcoming conference.  The panel, they said, would include Ryan Bretag, David Jakes, and David Warlick.  I emailed back a quick “are you sure this is the right email you wanted to send that too?” message, and found out it was me indeed they wanted on that panel.

Whoa.  What a great opportunity for some serious thinking and dialogue.  And again, whoa.  Who am I?  So before they could reconsider, I accepted.  Our panel called Beyond the Web 2.0 Hype: Focusing on What Really Matters, went on at 9:30 and I wanted to thank Lisa Thumann for recording it.

I wanted to thank Judy Salpeter for inviting me and making the arrangements, and to the other panelists, David, David, and Ryan, for pushing my thinking.  It was a blast, and I was thankful that David gave us some of the questions beforehand. The audience asked some great questions and made some salient points, but I think it was Ryan’s point about asking us what we really define an educated person as that will drive my thinking for a while.

What do we expect our students to be when they leave us?  What is our goal as educators?  I heard Zac Chase in my afternoon session on School Leadership state it in a way that I immediately gravitate towards: ethical, responsible, citizens.  The elements that define those three descriptors still need to be determined, but I think it’s an excellent place to start building backwards from.

The video is below.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

more about “Beyond the Web 2.0 Hype: Focusing on …“, posted with vodpod

4 thoughts on “Beyond the Web 2.0 Hype: Focusing on What Really Matters

  1. Patrick

    It was great to see you on the panel and I enjoyed your thoughts and discussion very much.

    One of my favorite panels so far and having the audience interaction was an excellent idea.

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts. Did you ustream or record your other session(s) as well?

    Jen

  2. Hi Jen,

    I think they recorded the audio from my session, but I am not sure. I hope they did because it would be a trip to hear!

    The panel was the highlight of the day for me. To be able to trade ideas and build off of the likes of people like Ryan, David, and David, plus the extremely literate (there’s that word again) crowd was a real treat. Breaking away from my office for a day to do that really recharged me.

    Thanks for your kind words, and I will pass along any information I have regarding the audio.

Leave a Reply

