Lesson Learned

The difference between the right word and the almost right word is the difference between lightning and a lightning bug. Mark Twain

Last week, I wrote a post in which I described the goals of what I had tried to do in a workshop at NYSCATE’s Leadership Summit.  In describing it, I used a few images to help, as well as a description of the goals.

In the comments, you’ll notice that a teacher from Iowa and South Dakota, Jerrid Kruse, took me to task for the language I used, or, retrospect, did not use, to frame the conversation in the post.  The seminar was about moving our colleagues, our schools and our students from what we know and are comfortable with in learning and teaching, to that which we don’t know, or rather that we do know, but are too paralyzed by our fears to move to.  What came through in the post, thanks to the image used, was somewhat short of that.  In looking back at it today, I realized two things:

  • Write without distraction.  I was following way too many ideas around and not focusing on my message.
  • Hit the mark with the language I use.  Be very precise with what I want to say, and how I want to say it.  Both of those elements were very loose in that last post.

Also, I get it–it’s an online space.  But it’s my online space, and for those that happen by here, I’d like what you read to be a reflection of me and my learning process.

Leave a Reply

